Color Style Kyle

Combining art, creativity, design, family, health, humor and books.

Queen Elizabeth I Costume – Coronation Crown, Gown & Scepter

Posted by Kyle Design on November 14, 2013

How to Create a Queen Elizabeth Halloween Costume

For Halloween 2007, I created a Queen Elizabeth I costume for my youngest daughter that featured richly embroidered fabric gown with a dropped waist and long sleeves. An ornate crown, scepter and necklace complete the look.

queenelizabethcostumes.jpg

Elegant Queen Elizabeth I Costume

The richly appointed Queen Elizabeth I Costume has golden floral gown or dress, coronation crown and jewel-encrusted scepter. To create the lines of this coronation dress, I had to use two different patterns – one for the square neck (Butterick 4884), the other (Simplicity 5835) for the pointed dropped waist. We added velvet trim to the wrists and a rhinestone encrusted metallic trim to the waist.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

queenelizabethicape.jpgShort Fur Cape with Side Slits

Even though the cape in the portrait was long and full, I chose practicality over authenticity in this instance and made a short cape with side slits. The side slits allow my daughter to have her hands free for her scepter and her trick-or-treat bag, which in this case is a gold “designer” handbag.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

queenelizabethipattern.jpgStiffened Bodice of Queen Elizabeth I Gown Costume

I used heavyweight interfacing for the front of the bodice to give it the stiff, crisp look of the original.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

queenelizabethbodice.jpgBodice is Lined in Silk

I lined the bodice with brown silk so the rough interfacing wouldn’t rub against the skin.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

gownbodiceskirt.jpgCreating Pleats in Skirt

Folded the skirt fabric to resemble the pleats shown in Queen Elizabeth I portrait. Rather than gather the skirt before sewing into the bodice, I folded the fabric to resemble the pleating in the portrait.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

gownbodiceskirtinside.jpgStitching Dress Bodice to Skirt

I stitch the bodice to the skirt along normal sewing lines just until the side seams. Then I overlaid the bodice on front of skirt and basted it in place from side seams to center point. For hip bustles, I stuffed very small pockets that were about 3″ x 6″ and stitched them into the side seams at the waist.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

queenelizabethicrown.jpgQueen Elizabeth I Coronation Crown

I designed and etched a flat sheet of metal to create the parts for crown. I then bent and folded the parts to assemble it. First, I curved the base into a circle and rivet it, then I gently shaped the bands curving down onto the base and riveted them together. I covered the rivets and the rest of the crown with large Swavorski rhinestones. This step took about 8 hours of carefully placing the correct size and color rhinestone into each slightly recessed location.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

queenelizabethback.jpgCostume Finishing Details

We found some pretty lace-covered shoes to finish out the look. She chose to wear gold spiral earrings with gorgeous dichroic glass center stones by jewelry artist Katya. Back view shows waist detailing on Halloween costume of Queen Elizabeth I gown.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

halloweenhandbags.jpgGold Handbag for Trick-or-Treating

Used gold “designer” handbag as a trick-or-treat bag. Might as well make your handbag match your outfit! Besides, an orange pumpkin goes with so little.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

queenscrystalcrossnecklace.jpgJewel Encrusted Necklace and Scepter

I designed and etched an ornate jewel-covered cross necklace with Swarovski crystals to continue the regal theme. The large cross necklace matches the cross on top of the crown. In addition, I made a scepter out of a brass curtain rod and glued additional rhinestones onto the top and bottom of it using E6000 glue.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
