Color Style Kyle

Combining art, creativity, design, family, health, humor and books.

Glass and Metal Inlaid Wood Memory Boxes for Men and Women – New at Kyle Design

Posted by Kyle Design on January 3, 2009

Handsome inlaid wooden boxes for men and women have it all - design, color and style!

Handsome inlaid wooden boxes for men and women have it all - design, color and style!

New today at Kyle Design: Gorgeous mixed media wooden boxes that are inlaid with decorative metal etchings, bright glass and iridescent film color accents in the center. These stunning boxes are available in 100s of gold or silver designs and 9 different color systems, so you can totally customize the look and feel of the boxes to suit the recipient. We can even engrave a metal plate inside the lid or on the side front of the box to express your sentiment, message of thanks or the dates of a special event.

This is one of those new items mentioned in yesterday’s post about New Years resolutions. I had the parts for this box ready to go back in October, but never quite got it together. Why? Often, there are just too many decisions about how I want to present an item, what options, what photos. (Perhaps closer to the truth – I love starting projects and exploring all my ideas but don’t enjoy following through on all the details quite that much.)

Anyway, here’s why I got bogged down on this item. A sample case:

The Photos: I photographed the original boxes with two in the image, but after cropping the photo into a square each box was so small that you couldn’t even tell what design was in the middle. Therefore pointless. I was hoping to give the impression that there are more than one color/design available but obviously hadn’t figured out how to do that effectively yet. Had to set up the shots and rephotograph. Again. Then process/crop/adjust the digital images. Again.

Soft, smooth colored glass provides a beautiful backdrop to the hard-edged metal designs and the handcrafted textured film.

Soft, smooth colored glass provides a beautiful backdrop to the hard-edged metal designs and the handcrafted textured film.

The Color Choices: Most of my items are available in about 40 colors, whether iridescent film or anodized aluminum. For these boxes we have an added degree of complexity with the glass colors used in combination with those colors. Question: do I allow customers to create whatever combination of glass and color accent they want? Which at this point would be 40 film/aluminum colors times 9 glass colors equals 360 color combinations. In either silver or gold, so multiply that by two to get 720 metal/color combos. You really could create your own look. Match your wedding colors, tie in with company colors, use someone’s favorite colors.

But there are risks…. Allowing customers complete control could potentially result in some really ugly match-ups. Here in the studio we can see what the true colors really look like with each other and would know when something just wasn’t right. Perhaps too daunting. (Limit colors!?! I’m an artist! I love colors! It just goes against my natural instincts to limit colors!)

But – if I do, how many color combinations do I offer? Do I keep them neutral or go for more wild combinations?

Must…make…an…executive…decision. Final decision: Start somewhere. Nine color combinations (for now) that stay within a color range.

Option Groups: With that decision made (whew!), it was back to the drawing board regarding how to present the color combinations and how to format them. Do I just show a chart of the glass colors and a chart of the film and aluminum colors and, when is comes to how the two look together, just let the customers use their imaginations?

Perhaps too challenging. Alternately, If I match up the colors, how do I photograph them – just the piece of glass and a piece of colored film together? Or displayed with a metal design for a more realistic look? Do I show a real design or would that be confusing to customers when they believe they have selected another pattern? If I use metal in the photo, do I use the silver or the gold or both? Worn out yet?

This memory box features a man and a woman with upturned faces and makes a beautiful gift for a couple starting a new life together.

This memory box features a man and a woman with upturned faces and makes a beautiful gift for a couple starting a new life together.

And so on and so forth. Not to mention just getting the materials and size descriptions correct, listing the features of this particular box that distinguishes it from the others on my site, and using keywords and terms that will help those looking for such an item find it in the search engine results.

Finally, I settled on the box arrangement in the top photo above which hints at other colors and shows the gold metal finish in the corner. I cropped a color system photo that displays a portion of a design with both glass and film in it. I used silver for all the images. I built a drop down menu for the color option group on the website. I measured the box, updated the text, checked my links and finally,

I put my Glass and Metal Inlaid Wood Jewelry Boxes in 100s of Designs on the site.

Whew! Check out the final results and tell me what you think. Thanks in advance!

One Response to “Glass and Metal Inlaid Wood Memory Boxes for Men and Women – New at Kyle Design”

  1. […] I tease Kyle sometimes because we talk a lot about new ideas she has and then I find out she has added it to the website when I see the actual new product  come up for me to pack!  Or I read about it when I am checking our her blog. […]

Leave a Reply

 
