Color Style Kyle

Combining art, creativity, design, family, health, humor and books.

Happy New Year 2009 – What Will Be New, New, New at Kyle Design

Posted by Kyle Design on January 1, 2009

Stain Glass Fireworks Night Light - Celebrate the New Year and add some excitement to a dark corner!

Stain Glass Fireworks Night Light - Celebrate the New Year and add some excitement to a dark corner!

Happy New Year 2009! Although I didn’t stay up to the bitter end, I know for sure it arrived because I woke up to hear the fireworks in my neighborhood going off at midnight. But now I’m up early (5:00 a.m. and it is oh so quiet outside) and thinking about what I want to add to my site this year.

Kyle Design’s New Year’s Resolutions

1. Finish New Items: It’s time to finish up all my half-started new items and get them up on the site. These include a new line of beaded jewelry, wall mirrors, switch plate guards, magnetic badge holders, 5″ square jewelry or valet boxes (like the Prosperity Box below), among many other items. I don’t think this problem is the result of procrastination so much as distraction from so many things to do….

Futuristic Business Card Holders with Carbon Atom symbolize new developments, advances and hope for the future.

Futuristic Business Card Holders with Carbon Atom symbolize new developments, advances and hope for the future.

2. Expand New Thematic Gift Pages: So many designs, so little time….  I added 65 new design series just as the holidays were hitting. I only had time to create a few items each for my new animals, numbers, sports, technical professions, foods, Asian characters and symbols pages. Time to expand the product pages of all those new designs. Yes, we have global products which you can customize with any of our 350+ designs, but customers often prefer to see how a particular design actually looks on a product. We’ll keep at it!

3. Dare I Say It – Create More New Designs: Even after making a big push to get fresh designs done in time for the holidays, there are always more that customers request – usually the day after the cutoff. This year those requests included skiing, a tank, jigsaw puzzle, the numbers 60, 75 and 80, a kitchen theme, New York, Eiffel Tower, field hockey, hope – and the list goes on. Right now, I’m looking at a list of nearly 100 ideas. I do love designing, but it is also very time-consuming and physically exhausting, so I can only do so much at a stretch. If I can kick out 20 or 30 in the next month or so I will be very pleased. If anyone has a suggestion for a new pattern I should be doing, bring it on! Please! I listen, really. No promises, but if there is enough interest you may see it show up in a future design run. {Thank you in advance 😉 .  }

Valet Box with the Chinese Character for Prosperity - Great gift idea with a positive sentiment for the New Year

Valet Box with the Chinese Character for Prosperity - Great gift idea with a positive sentiment for the New Year

2008 Was A Good Year. Our focus on organization and preparation really paid off during the 2008 holidays – we were really busy (and were very thankful for it)  – but the season has never gone so smoothly or efficiently for us. Not to say we haven’t identified  a couple more areas that could use improvement. (I can’t keep popping off with “oh yeah, that’s something new I just added…” when a customer asks about something that my staff has no idea about.)

One benefit of being in business as long as we have – since 1982 – is that we have the time to work out the kinks and get our act together. But products, times and systems do continue to change, so there are always new challenges. Kudos to my staff for all their great ideas, suggestions, organization, efficiency and depth of knowledge. It keeps our customers – and us – happy.

So here’s to a great 2009 and a happy, happy New Year!

For more fresh and new gift ideas, please check out my inspired New Year Gifts, Prosperity Gifts, Scientist Gifts, Fireworks Gifts, Business Card Holders, Night Lights and Jewelry Boxes.

Leave a Reply

 
