Color Style Kyle

Combining art, creativity, design, family, health, humor and books.

Medusa Costume with Snake Dress, Snake Hair, Jewelry

Posted by Kyle Design on October 26, 2007

Medusa Costume with King Cobra Snake EmbellishmentI love sewing unique Halloween costumes for my girls and this year, I’ve made a Medusa costume that has a 3-dimensional King Cobra appliquéd on the front which wraps around the dress. I created the snake accessories as well, including the etched metal snake earrings, snake necklace and the snake armband. In an exception to my usual preference of making everything, Snake Wrapped Around Dress for Medusa CostumesI bought the Medusa snake headpiece from Bonnie’s Treasures – it’s perfect, and I’m glad I didn’t have to attempt to create snake hair.

Dress: For the dress, we started with olive green silk shantung and lined it in chestnut brown silk satin. We chose Butterick Fast & Easy pattern B4343 which is a close-fitting, off the shoulder gown with a high slit. We found gorgeous fabrics at Britex Fabrics in San Francisco in different textures and colors that worked perfectly for this Halloween costume. I used a ribbed ivory fabric for the snake underbelly and a very fine snake printed knit for the snake body. I dyed faint stripes in the ivory fabric using tea and pomegranate juice. (For full instructions with photos, click Medusa Costume Sewing Tips.) For the snake face, I used red satin and white satin that I fused together to make the open mouth and fangs, a small piece of red Ultrasuede for the forked tongue, and snake eyes that I purchased from Van Dyke’s Taxidermy. I made a short bolero jacket out of a shimmery green crimped knit using McCall’s Fashion Accessories pattern M5197.

Jewelry and Accessories: We found the perfect shoes at Snake Earrings for Medusa CostumeTarget: snake print pumps by Isaac Mizrahi. I created the earrings, necklace and armband in polished gold etched brass with a snake skin pattern and embellished them with Swarovski crystals that I purchased from Dreamtime Creations. (I did a fair amount of searching and found Dreamtime Creations’ selection of shapes, size and colors to be the best, plus the prices and package quantities were great.) I created a few extra pairs of the golden Snake Earrings which are available for sale by clicking the link.

Snake Night Light in Red Stained GlassIf you’d like to see larger photos, detail shots or want to print out the pattern piece I created for the King Cobra appliqué, please visit Medusa Costume Instructions.

Who is Medusa? Medusa is a monster woman from Greek mythology who had snakes for hair. If you gazed upon her you would turn to stone. (My husband’s Halloween costume, naturally, is a man turned to stone: he has spray-painted a whole outfit white, from cap to glasses (leaving tiny holes to see out of) to shoes, and will paint his face white using Halloween face paint from the Halloween Super Store.)

Custom Snake ID Badge HolderHow did Medusa die? She was finally beheaded in her sleep by Perseus who used a mirrored shield to help him direct the fatal blow. From her neck sprang Pegasus (the winged horse) and the giant Chrysaor. Perseus eventually gave the Medusa’s head to Athena who placed it on her shield, the Aegis.

If you’d like to see more of my snake gifts and jewelry like the Snake Night Light or the Snake Badge Holder above, please visit my Snake Gifts and Home Decorations page.

Leave a Reply

 
