Color Style Kyle

Combining art, creativity, design, family, health, humor and books.

The Movie “Waitress” – Sweet Film Makes You Want to Bake – So I Did!

Posted by Kyle Design on October 5, 2007

Chocolate Desserts Night Light with Amber Glass and Etched Nickel Silver FrameTwo pies in the oven, waiting for them to finish baking. So what inspired me? I recently saw the film “Waitress” and loved it. It’s the story of a small town waitress married to an overly-controlling husband who finally finds the strength and means to escape from the relationship.Engraved Baby's First Christmas Ornaments

She loves baking pies, is renowned for her skills and comes up with clever and insightful names for the pies. Choice examples are “I Hate My Husband Pie” which is made of bananas and bittersweet chocolate (“and don’t sweeten it”), or “Baby Screaming It s Head Off in the Middle of the Night and Ruining My Life Pie” which is a New York style cheesecake with brandy-brushed pecans and nutmeg.

Stylish City Lights CompactsBerry season is winding down to an end here in the San Francisco Bay Area, so I picked up a flat of berries – raspberries, blackberries and strawberries – and baked two pies this afternoon. I’m going to a family reunion and it has been a tradition to bring homemade pies. When I make my pies, I think of my Aunt Carol who passed away in April of this year. She made the best pies – I especially liked her loganberry pies – and I will always associate them with her.

Berry Best Aunt Pie

6 cups Berries (2 c. each Blackberries, Raspberries, Strawberries)
1-1/2 cup Baker’s sugar
1/4 c. Clear Gel (Available from King Arthur Flour Co.)
1 t. lemon juice
1/8 t. salt
Dash of nutmeg

Mix together and let sit for 15 minutes, then pour into pie crust. (Use a metal pie pan for the flakiest crusts. I make my crust from scratch as well and use the recipe from “The Best Recipe” book – abridged below.) Dot with 2 T. of butter, cover with top crust, crimp, sprinkle with a little sugar, cut in a few air vents and bake at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes or until golden. It’s smelling really good in here right now….

By the way, King Arthur’s Clear Gel was ranked the best pie thickener in Cook’s Illustrated’s “The Best Recipe” book. I love this book and use the recipes all the time.

Pie Crust Recipe

Mix 2-1/2 cups flour, 1 t. salt and 2 T. sugar in a food processor. Cut up 12 T. chilled, unsalted butter and pulse about 5 times. Add 8 T. chilled shortening (I used the new trans fat-free butter-flavored Crisco) and pulse about 4 times until mixture is like coarse cornmeal and butter pieces are no bigger than peas. Turn into bowl and add 6-8 T. of chilled water. Mix with the back of a spatula and then wrap in plastic. Chill for at least 30 minutes before rolling out.

If you’d like to see other unique gifts like the Chocolate Desserts Night Light, the Baby’s First Christmas Ornament or the City Lights Compact, visit Chocolate Desserts Themed Gift Ideas, Unique Baby Gifts for New Parents or Stylish Engraved Compact Mirrors.

Leave a Reply

 
