Color Style Kyle

Combining art, creativity, design, family, health, humor and books.

No Reservations: Greatest Living Tenor Pavarotti Dead at 71

Posted by Kyle Design on September 6, 2007

Musical Notes Light Switch Plate in Brass and BlackThe great Italian tenor Luciano Pavarotti died today, September 6, 2007, at the age of 71 at his home in Modena, Italy. Pavarotti was regarded as the world’s greatest living tenor and one of the greatest of all time. He had been battling pancreatic cancer for the last year. (The purple ribbon is the color symbol of pancreatic cancer awareness.)Purple Ribbon Business Card Case for Pancreatic Cancer Awareness

Pavarotti’s stardom was compared to that of Enrico Caruso, the great Italian tenor who died in 1921. The Three Tenors – Luciano Pavarotti, Plácido Domingo and José Carreras – performed concerts in the 1990s and 2000s that helped introduce opera to the masses.

Just this week, I saw the movie No Reservations starring Catherine Zeta-Jones, Aaron Eckhart, Abigail Breslin (the girl in Little Miss Sunshine). The movie Chef Hat Refrigerator Magnetssoundtrack features opera including Pavarotti’s Cielo E Mar. While being light fair, the movie was still entertaining and the music enjoyable. (I grew up listening to Maria Callas, my mother’s favorite opera singer.)

During the movie, I found myself crying at the “wrong times” because the main character is a woman chef whose whole life revolves around her work, and this hit too close to home for me. I love cooking, and want to spend more time with my girls sharing what I know, but I am so busy. I left the theater saying that I needed to get a life. Maybe there is something about the creative aspect of being artist that ties you to your work in an even more profound way. It is so personal, so much a part of who you are, that it can be difficult to let go and find that workable level of separation. At least for me it is. It is my name on the product, and I care very much about how my artistry is perceived.

Other movies that have featured Pavarotti on the soundtrack include Yes, Giorgio (1982), The Fortunate Pilgrim (1990), Family Man (2000) and William Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream (1999) .

If you’d like to see more of the Kyle Design collection of unique themed gifts, please visit the Music Gifts, Awareness Ribbon Gifts and Chef Gifts pages that feature our business card cases, light switch plates, refrigerator magnets as well as many other unusual items.

Leave a Reply

 
