Color Style Kyle

Combining art, creativity, design, family, health, humor and books.

Still At It After 25 Years

Posted by Kyle Design on March 9, 2007

Well, I’m still at it. I’m an artist, a designer, a craftswoman, an entrepreneur, a boss, a small business owner, a webmaster, copywriter and even a product photographer. And still loving what I do even after 25 years.

I’m never quite sure what to say when the subject comes up of what I do for a living. Which phrase do I pick? How do I condense it all into a couple of words that would really encompass everything that I do? Each time I blurt one out, it doesn’t feel quite right, not a fully accurate representation.

I’ll let you know if and when I come up with a good way of phrasing it. What do others in a similar situation do? Can anyone out there can recommend a title? Please let me know what you’ve come up with.

So I’ll try: I’m an craftswoman working in mixed media who designs contemporary handmade gifts that I sell through a website as well as through galleries around the country. Whew!! A picture is worth a thousand words, so if you want to see exactly what (and how much!) I do, please visit my site at Kyle Design.

But I’m a wife and a mom, too. My family is involved with a new charter school in our community. I’m watching my weight and my cholesterol, trying to exercise more, monitoring my stress levels and trying to control my chocolate intake. The usual – just trying to juggle it all, not be a bad mommy while still finding time to laugh with my husband.

So I plan to muse on what being a woman artist has been like for 25 years, trying to do it all and feel like I’m not doing a half bad job at it. Sharing some of the tips and tricks I’ve learned along the way. The ups and downs and sideways of life and work.Dragonfly Business Card Holder

Leave a Reply

 
